Trip to Sleeping Beauty´s Castle……in Poland

22 05 2009

The weather forecast looked promising for last Sunday so I decided to make an excursion to Moszna – a small town close to Opole, some 100 km from the place I live now. In addition to the standard “I just ride a few kilometers before Sunday dinner”, this time it was enriched with a test of my new solar charger equipment.

Old workers´ houses: before…

Old workers´ houses: before…

...and after renovation

...and after renovation

My target was visit the Moszna-Castle, which is as romantic as its famous „cousin” in Neuschwanstein/Bavaria. Look at the photos in Wikipedia

Living in the very heart of the Upper Silesian Area, I was crossing districts showing already the results of the recent „revitalisation”. This is not the dirty-smokey industrial area I met 30 years ago….

Once I am Hungarian, I had to stop by the only Hungarian Restaurant in this area – however it was too early for a visit inside :-). Have a look at the solar charger on the rear pannier.

Tibor´s AZUB 4 recumbent

Tibor´s AZUB 4 recumbent

Then I left the busy roads and towns and was riding my recumbent via such nice forests.

tibor-azub-4-poland-4

Finally, later than expected, I showed up at the Moszna Castle, where my wife was waiting already for me – she gave me a lift back home…

The delay was caused by some mistakes at calculationg the route. At the end the cyclocomputer showed 125 km daily trip distance…

tibor-azub-4-poland-5

Thanks to Tibor for his story from Poland

Actions

Information

One response

10 06 2009
Matteo

Hi Tibor,

what a wonderfull trip you are describing, what an envy!

we miss to be once again colleagues last month but let’s keep in contact in any case.

Matteo

Leave a Reply

